Things got a little crazy…

Standard

Things have gotten suddenly crazy in my life. I’ve been impressed that I’ve maintained my veganism for 9 days, and have resisted the urge to smoke even though stress is my main trigger.

I’ve been kind of slacking on my budget- for many reason.

1) Laziness. I have bought a Bolthouse Juice for the past three days (around 3.50 each bottle) because I love getting my fruit fix but haven’t had had time to buy and make smoothies. That automatically blows my budget.

2) My failed bread experiements. Not extremely pricey, only a few bucks down the drain. I’ve learned from my mistakes (I hope) and I think a successful loaf is baking as we speak.

3) My determination to resist non-vegan temptations which prompted me to buy more expensive food to placate myself. Example: Walnuts, a vegan chocolate bar, vegan chocolate granola bar, and potstickers from Whole Foods in a moment of weakness and hunger.

So for now, I think I’m going to take a slight break from my budget. Don’t fear, just until I get myself more settled into veganism. I still will blog about my journey and explorations into my new food choices. I also have found it really cathartic to write about my life intermingled in with my posts about food (which I’m obsessed with). Its been helping me to deal with the new changes I’ve had going on.

At any rate.

I’m planning on starting yoga tomorrow. I’m so excited. If not tomorrow for some reason, if I had to work late, then on Sunday. I can finally breathe and report that my cold is 97% over. The extra lingering 3% is my stuffy and runny nose. But I’ve been hypothesizing lately that it could be a form of detoxing by expelling extra mucus from my body. Or I’m just running the course of a virus.

I’ll write more later, but just wanted to check in 🙂

The(Not so much as of late)FrugalVegan

5 responses »

  1. Attempting to stick a budget is currently a thorn in my side, too, so I feel you. Kudos on sticking to your guns, especially when it comes to smoking. I ditched the habit just over a year ago (after more than a decade) after I read the Allen Carr book “Easy Way to Stop Smoking.” Sounds too good to be true, I know, and I’m sure it doesn’t work for everyone, but I went into it with no expectations, figuring it couldn’t hurt to try, and was completely shocked when I quit cold turkey and never looked back. Best of luck!

    • Thank you so much for the encouraging words. Congrats for being smoke free for a year!! I can’t wait until next Christmas where I can be proud of my one year mark as well. How long have you been vegan? I’ve been meaning to tell you this, but I just love your blog. Your writing style is right up my alley. Keep it up lady!

      • Aw shucks! Thanks so much! I’ve been vegan for almost a year now, and am still shocked at how not difficult (and delicious) it has been.

  2. In my last 17 days of being vegan I have spent more than usual. Before: 120 a week (2 of us) now, closer to 160. BUT part of this is , as chefs my boy and i always ate many meals at work. Now I have to bring all my meals, and make his too. I have only ate 2 meals out. Also, I am loving finding new products and many of them are a little more costly than normal.
    Don’t be hard on yourself! You are doing great!

    • 17 days, woot woot! Thats awesome. Yeah, I feel like I need to experiment a bit and enjoy the finer side of being vegan before getting comfortable enough to budget. My next semi-splurge? Fresh ground cashew butter from Whole Foods. You keep talking about eating it and I just must have it now! 🙂 Keep up the good work and I’m glad your dinner went over well last night!!!

Leave a Reply

